Icelandic Communities Association

The Icelandic Communities Association (ICA) was originally known as the Mountain Celebration Committee. The Mountain Legion and Legion Auxillary sponsored and organized the 2nd of August celebrations for many years. Historically, the Icelandic group in northeast North Dakota was called Báran. The committee was first established in 1999 but our celebration began in 1889.

In February 2003, bylaws were adopted and the name was changed from the Mountain Celebration Committee to the Icelandic Communites Association. To become a member of ICA, pay an annual membership fee of $15.00/person.  This provides each member voting rights at all ICA meetings, a subscription to the Fjalla Blað newsletter, and full membership to the Icelandic National Leage of North America.

The seven Icelandic settlement communities that make up the ICA are Gardar, Mountain, Hallson, Vidalin, Fjalla, Thingvilla and Svold. More information on these areas can be found on the Pembina County USGenWeb. The people from these communities and many other supporters from all over the United States are instrumental in the success of the celebration and ICA activities.

The goal of the ICA is to celebrate our Icelandic heritage and culture. In addition to the annual heritage celebration, the ICA also participates in various activities throughout the year such as a Þorrablót, Icelandic movies from the INLNA, and we have frequent tour groups and visitors to our area.

In 1999, during the 100 year anniversary of August the Deuce, the Mountain Celebration Committee hosted the President of Iceland, Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson. He was the first Icelandic president to visit North Dakota. Since that time, the ICA has been honored to entertain countless dignitaries and visitors from Iceland.

Each year the ICA honors an individual for the Parade Grand Marshal and Honorary Parade Marshal. Please submit your nomination to the ICA before May 1st.

ICA Officers
President Curtis Olafson
Vice President Shirley J. Olgeirson
Treasurer John E. Johnson
Secretary Judy Geir

Directors at Large
Pat Morrison
Dori Kate Heck
Susan Sigurdson-Powers

You can become a member of the ICA by paying an annual membership fee of only $15/person. This provides each member with voting rights at all ICA meetings and includes a subscription to the Fjalla Blad newsletter.